Small Wars, featuring former members of Joey’s Loss and The Hotshot Freight Train, off their upcoming self-titled four-song EP. The EP is available for preorders beginning today, but it will also be available on color 7″ vinyl, limited to 200 and available digitally through all networks April 20. The release of the Small Wars EP will be the start of further promotion for the band, which seeks to turn this collaborative endeavor into a long-term project.

The band is an indie and punk rock collaborative based out of Tennessee. Formed in the Fall of 2017, the band seeks to pay homage to the punk rock scene of the ’80s and ’90s that influenced their own musical interests, but also to the themes of unity, activism, and social justice.

Singer and bassist Josh Tipton had a desire to continue writing and playing music after a decade-plus tenure in the Knoxville-based band The Hotshot Freight Train. Tipton teamed up with drummer Will Stout, of nearby Nashville, to help rehearse and record the new material. Stout, originally from the Knoxville area, had recorded albums for several of Tipton’s previous bands. Greg Barker, also previously of The Hotshot Freight Train, signed on to play guitar.


Heaven's Metal: An Oral History of the Genesis of Christian Metal

Heaven's Metal

When rock emerged from blues and 'heavy metal' began to surface, faith-based metal acts also rose to start their own journeys. Initially shunned by both believers and non-believers, they were fighting for their spot at the table, ultimately building a legacy that would go on to change the genre forever. HM presents an oral history of the beginning of Christian metal music, featuring Guardian, Tourniquet, Holy Soldier, Whitecross, and, of course, Stryper.


Full Feature

Trapped in Limbo

Black metal may not be the first thing on your mind when you think of Portugal, but GAEREA is here to change that. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt sat down with GAEREA to discuss the band’s music, their mysterious name and image, and how office work can be art.


Full Feature
All Features