North Texas death metal outfit, The Famine, has posted the first video, in a series of behind-the-scenes video blogs, on the Solid State Records Youtube channel, in anticipation of the forthcoming album, The Architects of Guilt.  The video was filmed during The Famine’s summer 2010 recording sessions, as the pieces were assembled for what is sure to be one of 2011’s most punishing albums.  The behind-the-scenes video can be seen at:
The Architects of Guilt, The Famine’s sophomore Solid State release, will hit stores on February 15th.  It is the follow up to the band’s critically acclaimed debut, The Raven and the Reaping (2008).  The forthcoming album can be pre-ordered now through the Solid State Records webstore at:, while a CD/t-shirt combo pre-order is available at:
cd the famine
The track list for The Architects of Guilt is…
1. The New Hell
2. Ad Mortem
3. We Are The Wolves
4. Turner Classic Diaries
5. Bigger Cages, Longer Chains!
6. The Crown and The Holy See
7. VII The Fraudulent
8. A Pavement Of Good Intentions
9. A Fragile Peace
10. Pyrithion House
11. To The Teeth
The Architects of Guilt is not a sing-a-long or a feel good record; it’s the death rattle and dying breath,” explains bassist Jon Richardson.  “The Famine is not here to win popularity contests, simply create metal, red in tooth and claw.”
“The music has become faster, more technical, even abrasive and discomforting, trading sheer aggression and energy for the lifeless sweeps and mechanized beats that have come to dominate and dilute the genre.  The lyrics forego empty threats and skip the subtleties, calling out the deceit and duplicity of our leaders, and the decay next door masked by a flaking white picket fence and a familiar chemical scent.”
However, the recording process for The Architects of Guilt did not go as smoothly as The Famine would have hoped.  The album’s release was set back months, due to an unfortunate electrical fire in the band’s studio.
“(The firefighters) didn’t know that it was a recording studio so they busted in, hoses blazing, and what wasn’t burnt to a crisp was covered in melted napalm, because as soon as that sound-proofing and insulation catches flame, it just turns into molten goo that covers everything,” explains vocalist Nick Nowell in a recent interview with  “What wasn’t covered in napalm was completely soaked.  We lost a lot that day, including everything we had recorded and all of the recording equipment.  Everything that was in the control room.”
Just before the freak electrical accident, the band’s vocalist left the band, prompting the band’s bassist, and current vocalist, Nick Nowell, to pick up the microphone.
However, despite all the setbacks, the all-star lineup comprised of former members of successful and influential acts like Embodyment and Society’s Finest, would prevail.
The finishing touches on the long awaited, The Architects of Guilt, were polished up this fall, with the help of the renowned audio mastermind, Jason Suecof, and The Famine is preparing to kick off 2011 with a barrage of pent up aggression.
Now stronger than ever, and sporting a reassembled cast, the Texas quartet is set to destroy (as evidenced by the band’s official website URL – the norms and conventions that have become standard in the death metal genre, and in some ways, destroy their relatively young, but unsettled past, as they start anew on the brutal and intricate, The Architects of Guilt.
Stay tuned for more information on The Famine and The Architects of Guilt.
The Famine is…
Nick Nowell – vocals
Andrew Godwin – guitar
Mark Garza – drums
Jon Richardson – bass
The Famine online…


Atreyu- 2021

Atreyu's Baptism

At their core, Atreyu is a hard rock band with metal riffs and pop choruses. Now, after more than 20 years, the band has stepped boldly into their next chapter with a change in lineup and an album that proves the lifeblood of Atreyu is stronger than ever.


Photo by Ashley Osborn

Full Feature
Imperial Triumphant - 2021

Alphaville’s Metal Renaissance

With influences that span Miles Davis and Stravinsky to Geddy Lee and Les Claypool, jazz metal force Imperial Triumphant is the epitome of genre-bending. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt spoke with the band about their unique style, the massive bass presence in their music, and the rise and fall of civilization.


Photo by Alex Krauss

Full Feature
Heaven's Metal: An Oral History of the Genesis of Christian Metal

Heaven's Metal

When rock emerged from blues and 'heavy metal' began to surface, faith-based metal acts also rose to start their own journeys. Initially shunned by both believers and non-believers, they were fighting for their spot at the table, ultimately building a legacy that would go on to change the genre forever. HM presents an oral history of the beginning of Christian metal music, featuring Guardian, Tourniquet, Holy Soldier, Whitecross, and, of course, Stryper.


Full Feature
All Features