Godsmack Photo by Joe Noyes for HM Magazine

The Louder Than Life Festival has announced its full lineup for the weekend of Sept. 28-30. (Tickets are available now at the festival’s website.) This year, the festival has been expanded to three days to accommodate the growing success of the event. As evidenced by the talent jammed into its roster this year, it’s no doubt evident. Headliners Avenged Sevenfold, Godsmack, and Nine Inch Nails (Friday through Saturday, respectively) bump elbows with Underoath, Billy Idol, Ice Cube, and Body Count. The full lineup is below.

Alongside the music, Louder Than Life is notorious for its side project: whiskey. Each year, the festival features a wealth of spirits, and this year, attendees 21 and up can visit the Bourbon World and enjoy crafted cocktails at the exclusive Down The Rabbit Hole Speakeasy; sip wine at the Caduceus Wine Garden; or enjoy a local brew at the Craft Beer Bar.

Friday, Sept. 28

Avenged Sevenfold, Limp Bizkit, Breaking Benjamin, Slash featuring Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators, Seether, Black Stone Cherry, Skillet, Underoath, Suicidal Tendencies, Red Sun Rising, Tremonti, Bad Wolves, Turnstile, Jelly Roll, Hyro The Hero, Badflower, Islander, True Villains

Saturday, Sept. 29

Godsmack, Five Finger Death Punch, Shinedown, Bush, Bullet For My Valentine, Hellyeah, Body Count, Pop Evil, Sevendust, GWAR, Dance Gavin Dance, From Ashes To New, Sick Puppies, Cane Hill, Bad Omens, Blacktop Mojo, Awake At Last, Stone Broken, The Jacks

Sunday, Sept. 30

Nine Inch Nails, Deftones, Ice Cube, Primus, Billy Idol, Action Bronson, Clutch, Asking Alexandria, Yelawolf, The Sword, Glassjaw, The Fever 333, Monster Magnet, Spirit Animal, The Dose, The Breton Sound


Heaven's Metal: An Oral History of the Genesis of Christian Metal

Heaven's Metal

When rock emerged from blues and 'heavy metal' began to surface, faith-based metal acts also rose to start their own journeys. Initially shunned by both believers and non-believers, they were fighting for their spot at the table, ultimately building a legacy that would go on to change the genre forever. HM presents an oral history of the beginning of Christian metal music, featuring Guardian, Tourniquet, Holy Soldier, Whitecross, and, of course, Stryper.


Full Feature

Trapped in Limbo

Black metal may not be the first thing on your mind when you think of Portugal, but GAEREA is here to change that. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt sat down with GAEREA to discuss the band’s music, their mysterious name and image, and how office work can be art.


Full Feature
Imperial Triumphant - 2021

Alphaville’s Metal Renaissance

With influences that span Miles Davis and Stravinsky to Geddy Lee and Les Claypool, jazz metal force Imperial Triumphant is the epitome of genre-bending. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt spoke with the band about their unique style, the massive bass presence in their music, and the rise and fall of civilization.


Photo by Alex Krauss

Full Feature
All Features