Listen now!

If you long for the days of old school metal and hardcore, the pioneers at Facedown Records are bringing it back by giving away a free sampler of 12 songs from 12 bands that set the party off right.

First of all, if you’re older, listen to a couple of these and relive your youth. Second of all, if you’ve never heard of any of these bands, download the sampler as your history homework.


  1. Means – “Connected”
  2. Figure Four – “In The Face Of Death”
  3. Symphony In Peril – “For Now We See In A Mirror, Dimly, But Then Face To Face”
  4. One 21 – “Runaway”
  5. Alove For Enemies – “The Harvest”
  6. Nodes Of Ranvier – “Don’t Blink (Or We May Miss It)”
  7. Seventh Star – “Thick And Thin”
  8. Inked In Blood – “Lest I Sleep The Sleep Of Death”
  9. Dodgin’ Bullets – “Tomorrow The World Will Change Forever”
  10. Bloody Sunday – “The Curse”
  11. Falling Cycle – “Rose Adore”
  12. Indwelling – “Hymn”

Also as a cool gesture, you can grab the record each of those tracks came from for just $4.99 at iTunes. If you ever forgot to transfer that CD over to your iTunes, now’s the time to go back and pick it up.

You can download the sampler for free. At the same link, you can also find links to each album on sale.


My Epic performing their last final show before COVID-19

Between the White Noise

My Epic's last full-length album came out in 2013; despite a number of EPs along the way, the band's dedication to their craft, lyrical approach, and unyielding approach to let the music come naturally has made them critical darlings. Now, they're learning to interact and feed a rabid fanbase in between albums and in a new normal.


Full Feature
HM covers from over the years

HM Magazine Turns 35

In 1985, Doug Van Pelt photocopied a letter-sized sheets of paper, bound them together, and handed them out in person on the campus of the University of Texas at Austin. It's all digital now, but, along the way, Van Pelt stirred up quite a few waves, played some seriously heavy music, and made a few friends along the way. Here: A quick look back at the magazine's 35-year history with Van Pelt and new owner, David Stagg.


Full Feature
Comrades 2020

Becoming Comrades

The trio of Comrades – husband and wife Joe and Laura McElroy alongside drummer John Gaskil – is used to living in a van and touring the country. Now, their new normal has provided them with a moment to "be adults" for once. We recently sat down with the McElroys to talk more about the spiritual reality within life, how soon they'll be able to release new music, and how koalas are their new normal.


Photo by Quinsey Sablan

Full Feature
All Features