One of the most favorited franchises of all-time, the Punk Goes… series, has released the first song from their sixth volume, coming out soon.

WCAR vocalist Dave Stephens spoke via press release:

We chose to cover Taylor Swift’s ‘Trouble’ because we all like the song and had a vision of how to make it our own style. Beyond that, it’s a cry for attention. We hope Taylor Swift will notice us now since we’re all in love with her.

Also of note, August Burns Red will be breaking down walls covering “Wrecking Ball” by Miley Cyrus.

Punk Goes Pop, Vol. 6 Tracklisting

  1. Tyler Carter (Feat. Luke Holland) “Aint It Fun” (originally performed by Paramore)
  2. August Burns Red “Wrecking Ball” (originally performed by Miley Cyrus)
  3. We Came As Romans “I Knew You Were Trouble” (originally performed by Taylor Swift)
  4. Upon A Burning Body (Feat. Ice-T) “Turn Down For What” (originally performed by DJ Snake & Lil Jon)
  5. Set It Off “Problem” (originally performed by Ariana Grande Feat. Iggy Azalea)
  6. Crown The Empire “Burn” (originally performed by Ellie Goulding)
  7. Oceans Ate Alaska “Drunk In Love” (originally performed by Beyonce Feat. Jay Z)
  8. Youth In Revolt “Royals” (originally performed by Lorde)
  9. Volumes “Hold On, We’re Going Home” (originally performed by Drake)
  10. Knuckle Puck “Chocolate” (originally performed by The 1975)
  11. Slaves “Sweater Weather” (originally performed by  The Neighbourhood)
  12. State Champs “Stay The Night” (originally performed by Zedd Feat. Haley Williams)
  13. Palisades “Happy” (originally performed by Pharrell Williams)


Imperial Triumphant - 2021

Alphaville’s Metal Renaissance

With influences that span Miles Davis and Stravinsky to Geddy Lee and Les Claypool, jazz metal force Imperial Triumphant is the epitome of genre-bending. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt spoke with the band about their unique style, the massive bass presence in their music, and the rise and fall of civilization.


Photo by Alex Krauss

Full Feature
Atreyu- 2021

Atreyu's Baptism

At their core, Atreyu is a hard rock band with metal riffs and pop choruses. Now, after more than 20 years, the band has stepped boldly into their next chapter with a change in lineup and an album that proves the lifeblood of Atreyu is stronger than ever.


Photo by Ashley Osborn

Full Feature
Heaven's Metal: An Oral History of the Genesis of Christian Metal

Heaven's Metal

When rock emerged from blues and 'heavy metal' began to surface, faith-based metal acts also rose to start their own journeys. Initially shunned by both believers and non-believers, they were fighting for their spot at the table, ultimately building a legacy that would go on to change the genre forever. HM presents an oral history of the beginning of Christian metal music, featuring Guardian, Tourniquet, Holy Soldier, Whitecross, and, of course, Stryper.


Full Feature
All Features