I'm Not Your Suicide

An Album By

Michael Sweet

Review by

Listen now

Album by:
Michael Sweet

Reviewed by:
On April 7, 2014
Last modified:May 7, 2014


Stryper front man and lead guitarist Michael Sweet has his biography, “Honestly,” releasing soon (plug: co-written by former HM Owner Doug Van pelt), and to accompany it, he has released this new solo album. When I first heard the plans for it, I thought the songs may be somewhat biographical, but they are not. What we have here is just a great new album that includes guest appearances by Tony Harnell (T.N.T.), Kevin Max (D.C. Talk), Robert Sweet and Tim Gaines (Stryper), Chris Jericho (Fozzy), Doug Aldrich (Whitesnake/Burning Rain), and Electra Mustaine.

With each of his earlier solo rock releases, Sweet has touched upon styles from straight forward radio rock (1994 self-titled release) to an acoustic Nashville rock feel (1995’s Real) to slight alternative rock leanings (Truth, as well as Stryper’s Reborn, which was rumored to be a solo album written before being recorded by the whole band).

He doesn’t stray from his past styles, and for heavy Stryper fans, songs like “Taking on the World Tonight,” “Anybody Else” and “Unsuspecting” feel like they could easily have fit the No More Hell to Pay release. Around 2003, he released a two-song limited edition record (“Miles Away” and “Strong”), both of which have been redone here, as well as a nice cover of Neil Young’s “Heart of Gold.”

All in all, this is a great, well-rounded release that fans of both Stryper and Sweet’s past releases should love.


The Undertaking 2021

Quite The Undertaking

Frenzied. Chaotic. Punk. The Undertaking!, San Diego's newest wild bunch, is about to release their debut album, and, if their live show is a premonition of any kind, the world will be opening up to one heck of a party with them. Contributing writer Andrew Voigt talks to vocalist Austin Visser about the band's new album, the reality of their music, and how they've been able to embrace their creative freedom.


Full Feature
All Features