We are announcing the release and immediate availability of GRAVE ROBBER – “BE AFRAID” (Collector’s Edition) on Retroactive Records! This horror punk/metal/shock rock classic comes packaged in a full color four panel digipak (with a tray), and an additional bonus track, the Nazareth cover tune “Love Hurts” for  this Collector’s Edition release!

If you like your gothic/shock rock spiked with a little arsenic and a healthy dose of dark humor, check out Be Afraid!  Band members, Dr. Cadaver, Nameless and Maggot offer you chainsaw guitars, super-tight arrangements and blatant morbidity wrapped around insanely catchy choruses, while Wretched provides elite vocal skills in mesmerizing Danzig/Rob Halford fashion! Their theatrical stage show and GWAR-like costumes lets fans know that this is not your everyday band.

Formed in 2005, these devil’s rejects arm themselves with sonic vibratory executions and images of horrific realities, bringing an onslaught of sound and warning that will ring into eternity. Rest assured, you will be afraid…you will be very afraid!  Fans of Rackets and Drapes, The Misfits, Alice Cooper, Type O Negative, Gwar, Kiss, Danzig and Rob Zombie will find themselves feeling as though they’re strolling into familiar musical history, yet simultaneously wading through a dense mire of uncharted territory. There’s nothing more terrifying than the unknown. Grave Robber is the one band that can hold your hand on a decidedly horrifying romp, leading you safely to the other side.  Heed the call of Grave Robber: die and escape the grave or die eternally.

The band’s name references Jesus’ return as the true grave robber, when Christ’s followers will be “raised as incorruptible and shall be changed” and “death is swallowed up in victory” (1 Cor 15:52, 54). While in church one evening, the message of Romans 6:11 (consider yourselves to be dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus) was preached just prior to communion.  This concept of being “dead” to sin and symbolically eating the flesh and drinking the blood, coupled with a passion to reach a people who are largely ignored by the church, sparked a flame in the hearts of the members of Grave Robber to begin this unique ministry.

This four panel digipak is the re-release of the 2007 jewel case version. It features different cover art and the unreleased bonus track, “Love Hurts” made famous by both the Everly Brothers and Nazareth (exclusive to this release).


**HM Magazine feature spot, Heaven’s Metal subscribers sampler cd

**Featured on 5000 headbangin’ 201 Retroactive Records budge sampler cds & 7000 SOD subscribers cds

**Collectively, the band members have opened for many national/international artists (Atreyu, At The Drive In, Cracker, Dead Poetic, Dropkick Murphys, Fall Out Boy, Godsmack, (hed)PE, Huntingtons, Billy Idol, Jackyl, Misfits, My Chemical Romance, The Offspring, Papa Roach, Petra, Relient K, Stryper, Taking Back Sunday, The Verve Pipe, W.A.S.P., etc)


01.  The Exorcist                                    10.  Schizofiend

02.  Skeletons                            11.  Dark Angel

03.  Burn Witch Burn                  12.  I Wanna Kill You Over And Over Again

04.  Bloodbath                           13.  I, Zombie

05.  Rigor Mortis                         14.  Army Of The Dead

06.  Buried Alive                                    15.  Rigor Mortis (Team Cybergeist Remix) – remixed by Angel Bartalotta, drummer for

07.  Screams Of The Voiceless           mainstream metal band, Dope

08.  Golgatha                             16.  Love Hurts (Everly Brothers/Nazareth cover)

09.  Reanimator


Employed to Serve

Forward Under a Dying Sun

Most of these days, the sun rises and sets on a world that feels like it's dying. Across the pond, where Employed to Serve calls home, they're learning how to support their latest record a year into its release. HM contributor Andrew Voigt recently sat down with Justine Jones to learn more about the band, marrying your bandmates, and their outside shot at touring with Rammstein.


Full Feature
HM covers from over the years

HM Magazine Turns 35

In 1985, Doug Van Pelt photocopied a letter-sized sheets of paper, bound them together, and handed them out in person on the campus of the University of Texas at Austin. It's all digital now, but, along the way, Van Pelt stirred up quite a few waves, played some seriously heavy music, and made a few friends along the way. Here: A quick look back at the magazine's 35-year history with Van Pelt and new owner, David Stagg.


Full Feature
My Epic performing their last final show before COVID-19

Between the White Noise

My Epic's last full-length album came out in 2013; despite a number of EPs along the way, the band's dedication to their craft, lyrical approach, and unyielding approach to let the music come naturally has made them critical darlings. Now, they're learning to interact and feed a rabid fanbase in between albums and in a new normal.


Full Feature
Comrades 2020

Becoming Comrades

The trio of Comrades – husband and wife Joe and Laura McElroy alongside drummer John Gaskil – is used to living in a van and touring the country. Now, their new normal has provided them with a moment to "be adults" for once. We recently sat down with the McElroys to talk more about the spiritual reality within life, how soon they'll be able to release new music, and how koalas are their new normal.


Photo by Quinsey Sablan

Full Feature
All Features