Sarah Jaffe’s The Way Sound Leaves A Room is Out Now!

Paste Follows up their Exclusive Album Stream with a Sneak Peak of the DVD Portion – a Stunning Live Performance of “A Sucker for Your Marketing”

PBS Catches Up with Sarah on the Road, Gets the Specs on her Writing Style

Refueled Presents a Beautiful, Raw Performance of “Clementine” (first single off Suburban Nature)

“Every time I’d pick up a guitar, I’d get frustrated,” said Sarah Jaffe said about having writer’s block, which she said came from an awareness of writing for her audience. So instead of returning to the frustration that was her guitar, she went to a pawn shop and picked up a bass and a drum set.

Although Jaffe wasn’t familiar with the instruments, practicing and recording with them gave her a new outlook on songwriting. This new view led her to create “A Sucker for Your Marketing,” a building, intense cut that features Jaffe on bass leading her band.

The video was filmed at one of Jaffe’s concerts at The Wyly Theatre in Dallas and features her full band adding piano, violin and guitar to the mix. It comes from Jaffe’s The Way Sound Leaves a Room, a CD/DVD collection of demos, alternate and live tracks.  The Way Sound Leaves a Room will be in stores this week.

Check out the performance here.


Profile: Songwriter Sarah Jaffe’s Varied Style

Click Here to Check out Video


On the eve of the release of her new album “The Way Sound Leaves a Room”, singer/songwriter Sarah Jaffe performed a raw, acoustic version of “Clementine” for Refueled Magazine’s film series {Automatic Buzz}™.

Click here to check out the performance.


Sarah Jaffe’s CD/DVD collection titled The Way Sound Leaves A Room is out now!  The CD, a collection of demos, covers, and an acoustic version of “Clementine,” shows the growth and experimentation of Sarah and her music.  The accompanying DVD takes an extraordinary look at Sarah’s sold out Wyly Theatre show in Dallas which includes live performance footage and behind the scene snippets.

This release is meant to bridge the gap between her acclaimed full length debut Suburban Nature and her soon to be released second full length studio album – out early 2012.  But before then, fans have a chance to catch Sarah at CMJ this year.  The details will be announced soon, so stay tuned!

The Way Sound Leaves a Room Tracklisting


1 Shut it Down – Drake & The Dream Cover

2. Louder Than Ever – Cold War Kids Cover
3. Clementine – Alternate version
4. Better Than Nothing Outro (demo)
5. The Way Sound Leaves a Room (demo)
6. When You Rest (demo)
7. A Sucker for Your Marketing (demo)
8. All That Time (demo)


“Live >From the Wyly Theater”
1. The Way Sound Leaves A Room
2. When You Rest
3. Nurture It
4. A Sucker For Your Marketing
5. Vulnerable
6. Hang With Me
7. All That Time
8. Clementine
9. Stay With Me
10. Before You Go
11. All That Time Video


Imperial Triumphant - 2021

Alphaville’s Metal Renaissance

With influences that span Miles Davis and Stravinsky to Geddy Lee and Les Claypool, jazz metal force Imperial Triumphant is the epitome of genre-bending. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt spoke with the band about their unique style, the massive bass presence in their music, and the rise and fall of civilization.


Photo by Alex Krauss

Full Feature
Heaven's Metal: An Oral History of the Genesis of Christian Metal

Heaven's Metal

When rock emerged from blues and 'heavy metal' began to surface, faith-based metal acts also rose to start their own journeys. Initially shunned by both believers and non-believers, they were fighting for their spot at the table, ultimately building a legacy that would go on to change the genre forever. HM presents an oral history of the beginning of Christian metal music, featuring Guardian, Tourniquet, Holy Soldier, Whitecross, and, of course, Stryper.


Full Feature
Atreyu- 2021

Atreyu's Baptism

At their core, Atreyu is a hard rock band with metal riffs and pop choruses. Now, after more than 20 years, the band has stepped boldly into their next chapter with a change in lineup and an album that proves the lifeblood of Atreyu is stronger than ever.


Photo by Ashley Osborn

Full Feature
All Features