Metal act Phinehas is scheduled to headline this year’s Red Cord Records Festival. Rockers Southbound Fearing and hardcore band From The Eyes Of Servants will also play the Loves Park, Illinois venue. The festival is scheduled for July 13 and is free to the public. Full band list:

  • Phinehas
  • From The Eyes Of Servants
  • Southbound Fearing
  • Behold The City
  • Your Chance To Die
  • At The Wayside
  • Beware The Neverending
  • Under Cities
  • My Ransomed Soul
  • Unarmed For Victory
  • This City Awaits


Tigerwine 2020

A Disparate Vintage

On Tigerwine's latest, 'Nothing is for You,' vocalist and lyricist Trobee departs from the band's last effort as a concept record to write about an array subjects. Notably, Trobee tackles his evolution from rigid belief system to an acceptance and understanding of other ideas: "Through touring and becoming close with those very people I was taught to be afraid of, I realized how untrue it all is."


Full Feature
My Epic performing their last final show before COVID-19

Between the White Noise

My Epic's last full-length album came out in 2013; despite a number of EPs along the way, the band's dedication to their craft, lyrical approach, and unyielding approach to let the music come naturally has made them critical darlings. Now, they're learning to interact and feed a rabid fanbase in between albums and in a new normal.


Full Feature
HM covers from over the years

HM Magazine Turns 35

In 1985, Doug Van Pelt photocopied a letter-sized sheets of paper, bound them together, and handed them out in person on the campus of the University of Texas at Austin. It's all digital now, but, along the way, Van Pelt stirred up quite a few waves, played some seriously heavy music, and made a few friends along the way. Here: A quick look back at the magazine's 35-year history with Van Pelt and new owner, David Stagg.


Full Feature
All Features