A War Within’s new album, Believe, is set to drop March 8, but today they’re premiering the second single from that album, “Hell is Empty and All the Devils are Here.” (You can also jam the song “Mirrors.”) The Detroit-based metalcore act will be joining Blessthefall, Miss May I, The Plot in You and Sirens and Sailors beginning today, touring in support of the new release (dates below).

We spoke with vocalist Spencer Maybe about the song:

“This song is written around a story we made about a phrase from Shakespeare. The music style is a nu-metal throw back with a different  spin on it. The back and forth vocals and heavy synths are really what bring this track to life. The instruments bring a very heavy disco or headbanging feel to it, whichever you prefer. The lyrics are written about the mass evil in the world and how it is always ready to take hold of you. The song is written from the perspective of both yourself and the source of evil.”

A War Within formed in Detroit in 2014 from the ashes of a number of broken projects, settling on the current quintet. You can follow them on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.

A War Within - Believe

  • February 20 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst
  • February 21– Pomona, CA @ The Glass House
  • February 22– San Francisco, CA The Regency Ballroom
  • February 23– Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theatre
  • February 24 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
  • February 26 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex
  • February 27 – Denver, CO @ Summit Music Hall
  • February 29 – Minneapolis, MN @ Mill City Nights
  • March 1 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
  • March 2 – Detroit, MI @ St. Andrew’s Hall
  • March 3 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theater
  • March 4 – Montreal, QC @ Virgin Mobile Corona Theater
  • March 5 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
  • March 6 – Cambridge, MA @ The Middle East
  • March 7 – Philadelphia, PA @ Theater of Living Arts
  • March 8 – Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head Live
  • March 10 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
  • March 11 – St. Petersburg, FL @ State Theatre
  • March 13 – Orlando, FL @ Plaza Live
  • March 24 – Pensacola, FL @ Vinyl
  • March 17 – San Antonio, TX @ Alamo City Music Hall
  • March 18 – Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live
  • March 20 – Oklahoma City, OK @ Farmers Public Market
  • March 21 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sunshine Theater


Top 25 Albums of 2020

The Top 25 Albums of 2020

When the going gets tough, artists create art. Despite a world reckoning outside our quarantined doors, musicians relentlessly created new music giving birth to genre-defining releases and, despite a year spent indoors, a marked 2020 full of passion and fervor. Here are our Top 25 albums of 2020.


Full Feature

Droning On

The world came to a halt in 2020, but London-based Drones trudged on, giving a voice to the hurt that circulates with (or without) a pandemic: "You shouldn’t underestimate the power of writing things down or literally speaking them out loud, which I’m learning. I’m glad I made these songs, no matter how personal they are."


Full Feature
All Features