Five-piece rock band Heartist recently dropped an acoustic version of their song “Skeletons,” alongside the announcement that they’ll be spending the rest of 2015 on the road, partially with Islander and the Tooth and Nail-signed XXI. (You can here the original version of “Skeletons” below.)

Vocalist Bryce Beckley spoke about the song via press release:

“I can count the number of times we’ve performed any of our songs acoustic on one hand, so it goes without saying that I was a bit nervous when it came time to track this. We’re used to playing and hearing this song as a full band, and any musician can tell you that after performing a song hundreds of times, it often feels like muscle memory takes over. As a band, we have always pushed ourselves to step out of our comfort zones, and this was a pretty big step for me.”

The Orange County, CA band released their debut album, Feeding Fiction, in 2014, but has been together since 2011, releasing an EP in 2012, Nothing You Didn’t Deserve.

  • Nov. 28 – Dallas, TX – The Curtain Club
  • Nov. 29 – Houston, TX – Walter’s
  • Nov. 30 – Tupelo, MS – Publik House
  • Dec. 2 – Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade*
  • Dec. 3 – Spartansburg, SC – Ground Zero*
  • Dec. 6 – Biloxi, MS – Kress Live*
  • Dec. 8 – Nashville, TN – Rocketown*
  • Dec. 9 – Hagerstown, MD – Hard Times*
  • Dec. 11 – New York, NY – The Studio @ Webster*
  • Dec. 12- Poughkeepsie, NY – The Loft*
  • Dec. 13- Pittsburgh, PA – The Altar Bar*
  • Dec. 15 – St. louis, MO – Fubar^
  • Dec. 16 – Merriam, KS – Aftershock^
  • Dec. 17 – Denver, CO – The Moon Room^
  • Dec. 18 – Colorado springs, CO – Black Sheep^
  • Dec. 19 – Albuquerque, NM – Duke City^
  • Dec. 20 – Flagstaff, AZ – The Hive

* Islander, ^ XXI


Bert McCracken of The Used Photo by Aaron Berkshire

Let's Get to the Heart of Things

"Music is our everything; we live and die for it. It’s our way to be human, so making songs that make that deep human connection is really important for The Used." In a new age of releasing music in a socially-distanced world, Bert McCracken and The Used face the challenge of human connection when physical connection is taboo. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt dives in with McCracken about The Used's new album, Heartwork, his absence on social media, and why 2020 will be the year of rice.


Photo by Aaron Berkshire

Full Feature
Loose Talk

The Blackened Blues

With Anberlin putting a hold on its career, two of its members – Christian McAlhaney and Deon Rexroat – weren't ready to put on hold on music as their careers. Now, their former side project – a "blackened blues" rock and roll outfit – has become their main gig.


Full Feature
Telle Smith of The Word Alive

An Artist's Obsession

Telle Smith, vocalist for The Word Alive, is coming off the release of the band's sixth studio album, MONOMANIA. That was in February. This is, well, now. Originally planned to tour for the new album and play for millions, he’s in his house in California... trading stocks. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt catches up with the quarantined Smith.


Photo by Dusty Winter

Full Feature
All Features