Everything in Slow Motion has released the first new single from their upcoming EP. The song, “Bad Season,” comes from the band’s second EP, a five-track release named Laid Low, set to drop on April 22 from Facedown Records. The band is led by Shane Ochsner, who previously fronted the band Hands. Ochsner enlisted J. Hall to produce and mix the release, while also working with Miles McPherson — known most notably for being Paramore’s live drummer — on the music.

According to Ochsner, the EP was written entirely on an acoustic in order to focus on the melodies he was hearing in his head. “Screaming wouldn’t have made sense,” he says about Laid Low. “The songs didn’t call for it this time around.”

The album is currently available for preorder. It comes on the heels of an EP, Red, released in 2012 and the band’s debut, Phoenix, from two years ago in 2013.

Everything in Slow Motion - Laid Low


Comrades 2020

Becoming Comrades

The trio of Comrades – husband and wife Joe and Laura McElroy alongside drummer John Gaskil – is used to living in a van and touring the country. Now, their new normal has provided them with a moment to "be adults" for once. We recently sat down with the McElroys to talk more about the spiritual reality within life, how soon they'll be able to release new music, and how koalas are their new normal.


Photo by Quinsey Sablan

Full Feature
Employed to Serve

Forward Under a Dying Sun

Most of these days, the sun rises and sets on a world that feels like it's dying. Across the pond, where Employed to Serve calls home, they're learning how to support their latest record a year into its release. HM contributor Andrew Voigt recently sat down with Justine Jones to learn more about the band, marrying your bandmates, and their outside shot at touring with Rammstein.


Full Feature
All Features