Nashville, TN – July 21, 2010 – Esterlyn, the unique four-piece worship band from Boise, Idaho, is set to release their new CD, titled Call Out, July 27th courtesy of VSR Music Group. Call Out, which combines various musical elements with straightforward yet heartfelt messages within their songs, Esterlyn hopes their music touches lives and provides encouragement for the hearts of God’s people.
With Call Out, Esterlyn also desires to capture the essence of true transparency through genuine faith while sharing messages of complete openness to God. An early review of the album has stated, “Through the album suddenly you find your heart and mind being drawn to the attributes of God’s character. You are taken heavenward and it’s simply beautiful.”

When Tenth Avenue North’s Ruben Juarez was asked his opinion of the new album, he stated, “Musically alluring. Sonically pleasing. This is a great record carrying a message of hope, promise, and the freedom we’re given when we are in Christ. Call Out is sure to bring you into His presence.”
Call Out was produced by Ken Mary, President of VSR Music Group, Paramore’s Jon Howard, and Luke Caldwell, Esterlyn’s lead vocalist. As an incentive, the eight new songs on Call Out wil be available for only $5 everywhere music is sold. Call Out follows in the footsteps of their debut CD, Lamps and the EP Mending The Meaning.
“Call Out,” the first single off the project and is now at AC radio, is about complete surrender and simply “calling out” to God through any and every situation. The song was penned by Caldwell and Howard, along with Nick Departee of the band Kutless.
Departee describes the song as “One of those songs you feel special just to be a part of. It’s a refreshing reminder that even at our worst, God is patiently waiting for us to lift our voices and lives to Him. In a world full of failure we serve a God who is faithful and is always listening.”
Jon Howard comments, “’Call Out’ was the result of a great conversation amongst friends and the encouragement that God so faithfully gives us in fellowship.
“I hope this song means as much to the listener as it does to me,” he continues. “The heart of Esterlyn really comes though on this record. These songs are genuine. They speak the truth of God and are overall good for the soul.”
Another highlight found on Call Out is “Now You’re Found,” a favorite of Luke Caldwell, lead singer of Esterlyn. Written from Jesus’ perspective, the song sings of the importance of laying our burdens and struggles at His feet.

“Esther,” the standout track that was inspired by a story in Caldwell’s family, takes the story of his adopted niece that not only inspired the band name, but gave the band purpose by showing the power of God’s love to change a person’s life.
In preparation for the CD release, Esterlyn has been touring across the nation and appearing at all the major summer festivals, along with leading worship for Acquire The Fire events. The band is also anticipating the “Open Your Heart Tour” with Pastor Bob Caldwell this fall. The tour’s goal is to challenge churches to reach out into their communities and beyond to bring them the knowledge of Jesus Christ.
As a band, Esterlyn wants to show how precious every created being is, as well as truly make a change in peoples’ lives. Through their music and touring, and through their support of, Caldwell states, “We are just four simple guys who love Jesus and want to make a difference through our lives and our music.  We pray these simple songs will bring you into the presence of the one and only King Jesus Christ. He is the reason we sing!”
The Call Out song listing is as follows:
1. Call Out
2. Can’t Miss This
3. Now You’re Found
4. Freedom is Here
5. El Shaddai
6. The Lord is Good
7. Treasure
8. Esther


Heaven's Metal: An Oral History of the Genesis of Christian Metal

Heaven's Metal

When rock emerged from blues and 'heavy metal' began to surface, faith-based metal acts also rose to start their own journeys. Initially shunned by both believers and non-believers, they were fighting for their spot at the table, ultimately building a legacy that would go on to change the genre forever. HM presents an oral history of the beginning of Christian metal music, featuring Guardian, Tourniquet, Holy Soldier, Whitecross, and, of course, Stryper.


Full Feature

Trapped in Limbo

Black metal may not be the first thing on your mind when you think of Portugal, but GAEREA is here to change that. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt sat down with GAEREA to discuss the band’s music, their mysterious name and image, and how office work can be art.


Full Feature
All Features