The Atlantic Records Group has been honored with an impressive selection of nominations for the upcoming 53rd Annual Grammy Awards.  Atlantic Records Group artists and recordings earned 38 major nods, reflecting the label group’s success in a remarkably varied range of categories.

Elektra recording artist Bruno Mars is the year’s second most-nominated artist with seven total nods, paying tribute to his diverse talents as performer, songwriter, and producer.  Mars got two nominations in the “Record of the Year” category, for both his featured role on B.o.B’s “Nothin’ On You (Feat. Bruno Mars)” as well for his production (as a member of The Smeezingtons) on Cee Lo Green’s “F*** You.”  Both tracks also earned Mars nods for his work as a songwriter, with “F*** You” named in the “Song of the Year” category and “Nothin’ On You” listed among the “Best Rap Song” nominees.  A gifted performer in his own right, Mars received a “Best Male Pop Vocal Performance” nomination for his own solo single, “Just The Way You Are,” as well as a “Best Rap/Sung Collaboration” nod for “Nothin’ On You.”  As if all that weren’t enough, Mars – with his Smeezingtons partners, Philip Lawrence and Ari Levine – is also in the running for the “Producer of the Year, Non-Classical” award.

Rebel Rock/Grand Hustle/Atlantic recording artist B.o.B received five nominations, with “Nothin’ On You (Feat. Bruno Mars)” noted in three categories:  “Record of the Year,” “Best Rap/Sung Collaboration,” and “Best Rap Song.”  In addition, “Airplanes, Part II (Feat. Eminem and Hayley Williams of Paramore)” scored a “Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals” nod, while his full-length debut, “B.o.B PRESENTS: THE ADVENTURES OF BOBBY RAY,” is among the candidates for “Best Rap Album.”

Elektra recording artist Cee Lo Green picked up four major nominations, all honoring his groundbreaking hit single, “F*** You.”  The track was named in two of the Grammys’ most prestigious categories, “Record of the Year” and “Song of the Year,” as well as “Best Urban/Alternative Performance” and “Best Short Form Music Video.”

Home Grown/Big Picture/Atlantic & Southern Ground/Atlantic recording group Zac Brown Band also received four big nominations.  The winners of last year’s “Best New Artist” trophy got the nod for “Best Country Album” for “YOU GET WHAT YOU GIVE,” while “Free” was named as “Best Country Song” and “Best Country Performance, Duo Or Group.”  What’s more, “As She’s Walking Away (Feat. Alan Jackson)” was nominated for “Best Country Collaboration With Vocals.”

Atlantic’s own Jaheim picked up three nominations, including “Best R&B Album” for “ANOTHER ROUND” and  “Best R&B Song” and “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance,” both for “Finding My Way Back.”

Wondaland Arts Society/Bad Boy/Atlantic recording artist Janelle Monáe was celebrated with a pair of impressive nominations.  “Tightrope (Feat. Big Boi)” was named in the “Best Urban/Alternative Performance” category, while her acclaimed full-length debut, “THE ARCHANDROID,” received a nod as “Best Contemporary R&B Album.”

Two Atlantic releases were named in the “Best Compilation Album For Motion Picture, Television, Or Other Visual Media” category, including Summit Entertainment/Chop Shop/Atlantic’s “THE TWILIGHT SAGA: ECLIPSE – ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK” and Elektra’s “TRUE BLOOD – MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES VOLUME II.”   The latter collection is highlighted by “Kiss Like Your Kiss,” written by Lucinda Williams, which was nominated as “Best Song Written For Motion Picture, Television, Or Other Visual Media.”

Fox Music/Atlantic’s “AVATAR: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE” received a nomination as “Best Score Soundtrack Album For Motion Picture, Television, Or Other Visual Media,” while the film’s end title song, “I See You (Theme From Avatar)” – written by Simon Franglen, Kuk Harrell & James Horner – was also named in the “Best Song Written For Motion Picture, Television, Or Other Visual Media” category.

Fueled By Ramen recording group Paramore’s “The Only Exception” was acknowledged in the “Best Pop Performance, Duo Or Group” category, with the band’s Hayley Williams also among the featured artists on B.o.B’s aforementioned nomination, “Airplanes, Part II.”

Atlantic’s own Stone Temple Pilots’ “Between The Lines” was nominated for “Best Hard Rock Performance,” while Atlantic/Credential recording group Switchfoot earned a “Best Rock Or Rap Gospel Album” nod for “HELLO HURRICANE.”

Grand Hustle/Atlantic’s T.I. received a “Best Rap Solo Performance” nomination for “I’m Back,” with the multiple Grammy-winning rapper also among the nominees for “Best Rap Performance, Duo Or Group,” marking his featured role on Drake’s “Fancy (Feat. T.I. and Swizz Beatz).”  Also, Atlantic recording artist Tank – whose label debut arrives in stores on December 14th – received a “Best R&B Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocals” nom for his collaboration with Chris Brown, “Take My Time (Feat. Tank),” while Atlantic’s own Musiq Soulchild earned a nomination in the “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance” category for his featured role on Kirk Whalum’s “We’re Still Friends (Feat. Musiq Soulchild).”

A number of Roadrunner recording groups received nominations, including Korn and Megadeth, both of whom were nominated in the “Best Metal Performance” category – honoring respectively, “Let The Guilt Go” and “Sudden Death.”  Roadrunner’s Porcupine Tree received a “Best Surround Sound Album” nod for “THE INCIDENT” while Roadrunner/Loud & Proud’s Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band picked up a “Best Contemporary Blues Album” nomination for “LIVE! IN CHICAGO.”

In addition, a pair of “Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical” nominees were honored for work including Atlantic-released recordings:  Rob Cavallo (for, among others, Paramore’s “BRAND NEW EYES” and Top Dog/Atlantic recording artist Uncle Kracker’s “HAPPY HOUR”) and Dr. Luke, for tracks including B.o.B’s “Magic (Feat. Rivers Cuomo).”

Last, but most certainly not least, congratulations to Anthem/Atlantic recording group Rush, whose acclaimed documentary film, Rush: Beyond The Lighted Stage, is among the nominees as “Best Long Form Music Video.”

The 53rd Annual Grammy Awards will be held on Sunday, February 13th, 2011 at Staples Center in Los Angeles and will be broadcast live on CBS from 8-11:30 pm (ET/PT).


My Epic performing their last final show before COVID-19

Between the White Noise

My Epic's last full-length album came out in 2013; despite a number of EPs along the way, the band's dedication to their craft, lyrical approach, and unyielding approach to let the music come naturally has made them critical darlings. Now, they're learning to interact and feed a rabid fanbase in between albums and in a new normal.


Full Feature
Comrades 2020

Becoming Comrades

The trio of Comrades – husband and wife Joe and Laura McElroy alongside drummer John Gaskil – is used to living in a van and touring the country. Now, their new normal has provided them with a moment to "be adults" for once. We recently sat down with the McElroys to talk more about the spiritual reality within life, how soon they'll be able to release new music, and how koalas are their new normal.


Photo by Quinsey Sablan

Full Feature
Tigerwine 2020

A Disparate Vintage

On Tigerwine's latest, 'Nothing is for You,' vocalist and lyricist Trobee departs from the band's last effort as a concept record to write about an array subjects. Notably, Trobee tackles his evolution from rigid belief system to an acceptance and understanding of other ideas: "Through touring and becoming close with those very people I was taught to be afraid of, I realized how untrue it all is."


Full Feature
All Features