The Famine, North Texas’s rising technical death metal act, has posted a fourth song from the upcoming full-length, The Architects of Guilt, on the band’s official MySpace page at:  “A Fragile Peace” joins the already revealed, “Ad Mortem”, “VII The Fraudulent”, and “The New Hell”, as the first songs to be previewed from the February 15th Solid State Records release.

The Famine vocalist, Nick Nowell, explains, “’A Fragile Peace’ is about the glass walls we build, but more importantly, how easily they come down.”

A mobile-web-accessible YouTube audio stream of “A Fragile Peace” is also available on the official The Famine YouTube channel at:

The track list for The Architects of Guilt is…

1. The New Hell

2. Ad Mortem

3. We Are The Wolves

4. Turner Classic Diaries

5. Bigger Cages, Longer Chains!

6. The Crown and The Holy See

7. VII The Fraudulent

8. A Pavement Of Good Intentions

9. A Fragile Peace

10. Pyrithion House

11. To The Teeth

“If you’re looking for the generic banality of many bands of this ilk, look elsewhere, for The Famine are here to bloody their knuckles and shred your soul.” – Boise Music Examiner

Three behind-the-scenes video blogs, filmed during The Architects of Guilt summer recording sessions in Dallas, can be seen online at:, and

The first single from The Architects of Guilt, “Ad Mortem”, is now available for download on iTunes at:, or on at:, and the record can be pre-ordered through the Solid State Records webstore at:  A special CD/t-shirt combo pre-order is also available at:

Stay tuned for more information on The Famine and The Architects of Guilt.

The Famine is…

Nick Nowell – vocals

Andrew Godwin – guitar

Mark Garza – drums

Jon Richardson – bass

The Famine online…


Imperial Triumphant - 2021

Alphaville’s Metal Renaissance

With influences that span Miles Davis and Stravinsky to Geddy Lee and Les Claypool, jazz metal force Imperial Triumphant is the epitome of genre-bending. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt spoke with the band about their unique style, the massive bass presence in their music, and the rise and fall of civilization.


Photo by Alex Krauss

Full Feature
Atreyu- 2021

Atreyu's Baptism

At their core, Atreyu is a hard rock band with metal riffs and pop choruses. Now, after more than 20 years, the band has stepped boldly into their next chapter with a change in lineup and an album that proves the lifeblood of Atreyu is stronger than ever.


Photo by Ashley Osborn

Full Feature

Trapped in Limbo

Black metal may not be the first thing on your mind when you think of Portugal, but GAEREA is here to change that. HM contributing writer Andrew Voigt sat down with GAEREA to discuss the band’s music, their mysterious name and image, and how office work can be art.


Full Feature
All Features