After more than two years of non-stop touring as The Rocket Summer, frontman, songwriter and multi-instrumental mastermind Bryce Avary has finally been able to put the finishing touches on his second major label album release on Island Records, OF MEN AND ANGELS, due to arrive early next year.  Single “You Gotta Believe” will premier on on October 19th.  Fans can hear early teases of the song on the site week of October 12th.
In advance of the album release, a 4 song EP will be released digitally on October 27th, You Gotta Believe, produced by Bryce Avary and co-produced and engineered by CJ Eiriksson, who served as engineer on Do You Feel, the first major label album release by TRS on Island.  EP will include tracks from the upcoming album and bonus song, “You Gotta Believe”, “Hills and Valleys”, “Light” and “The Fight”.   Two days before the You Gotta Believe EP release, the Rocket Summer returns to the road, for a 34-city North American tour with Forever the Sickest Kids, opening October 25th in Oklahoma City, ending six weeks later in San Francisco on December 5th.  (Please see tour dates below.)
OF MEN AND ANGELS and You Gotta Believe follow-up The Rocket Summer’s Island debut, Do You Feel, released July 2007.  After the release of “So Much Love,” as an advance track, the album’s title tune single “Do You Feel” eventually broke through at Alternative and Modern Rock radio in the summer of 2008, while TRS headlined the sold out Alternative Press tour and graced the cover of AP’s magazine as well.  TRS then headed out on a successful six-week North American tour with Phantom Planet, Secret Handshake, and the Morning Light, plus two sold out headline tours in the UK! When describing TRS, Austin City Limits states; “We’re not talking simple acoustic solo stuff here, The music Bryce makes as The Rocket Summer is lush, explosively catchy and artful power pop that hints at a new Brian Wilson or Prince in the making. Keep an eye out on this one.”
The video for “Do You Feel” turned into a phenom, directed by Bryce Avary and Nate Weaver, with guest appearances by and Jeremy Davis (Paramore),  Andrew McMahon (Jack’s Mannequin), Jonathan Cook (Forever The Sickest Kids), Alex Gaskarth (All Time Low), Mike Herrera (MxPx), Forrest Kline (Hellogoodbye), and Matt Theissen (Relient K).  To date, the album version of “Do You Feel” has passed 4 million plays on The Rocket Summer’s MySpace website
Avary, a phenomenally gifted visionary was a teenager playing local shows around Colleyville, Texas in 1999, when he composed, arranged, produced, sang, and performed every instrumental part on his low-budget self-titled EP, The Rocket Summer.  The full-length Calendar Days was recorded in 2002, and released in 2003 by The Militia Group.  The grassroots following exploded as TRS toured relentlessly, climaxed by a warm reception in Japan.  A second indie album, Hello, Good Friend, recorded in Brooklyn with producer Tim O’Hier, was released in 2005, as the fan base continued to grow.
For further information go to
with Forever the Sickest Kids

Date            City    Venue___________
Oct.    25      Oklahoma City, OK       Bricktown Events Center
27      Omaha/Kansas City        BeaumontClub
28      Des Moines/Omaha         Peoples Court
29      Minneapolis, MN  Station 4
30      Milwaukee, WI    The Rave
31      Chicago, IL      House of Blues
Nov.    1       St. Louis, MO    Pops
3       Detroit, MI      Orbit Room
4       Grand Rapids, MI         Clutch Cargo’s
5       Cincinnati, OH   Bogarts
6       Washington, DC   The Tavern
7       Baltimore, Maryland      Sonar
8       Pittsburgh, PA   Diesel
9       New York, NY    Highline Ballroom
11      Farmingdale, NY  The Crazy Donkey
12      Sayreville, NJ   Starland Ballroom
13      Allentown, PA   Crocodile Rock Cafe
14      Philadelphia, PA         Trocadero
15      Boston, MA      House of Blues
18      Atlanta, GA      The Masquerade
20      ST Petersburg, FL        State Theatre
21      Ft. Lauderdale, FL      Culture Room
22      Lake Buena Vista, FL    House of Blues
24      Memphis, TN      New Daisy Theater
26      Dallas, TX       House of Blues
27      San Antonio, TX  White Rabbit
28      Houston, TX      Meridian
29      Pharr, TX        JAGZ Entertainment
Dec.    1       Tuscon, AZ      Rialto Theatre
2       San Diego, CA    Soma
3       Los Angeles, CA  Avalon Hollywood
4       San Francisco, CA        Grand Ballroom at The Regency
5       Anaheim, CA      House of Blues


My Epic performing their last final show before COVID-19

Between the White Noise

My Epic's last full-length album came out in 2013; despite a number of EPs along the way, the band's dedication to their craft, lyrical approach, and unyielding approach to let the music come naturally has made them critical darlings. Now, they're learning to interact and feed a rabid fanbase in between albums and in a new normal.


Full Feature
Comrades 2020

Becoming Comrades

The trio of Comrades – husband and wife Joe and Laura McElroy alongside drummer John Gaskil – is used to living in a van and touring the country. Now, their new normal has provided them with a moment to "be adults" for once. We recently sat down with the McElroys to talk more about the spiritual reality within life, how soon they'll be able to release new music, and how koalas are their new normal.


Photo by Quinsey Sablan

Full Feature
HM covers from over the years

HM Magazine Turns 35

In 1985, Doug Van Pelt photocopied a letter-sized sheets of paper, bound them together, and handed them out in person on the campus of the University of Texas at Austin. It's all digital now, but, along the way, Van Pelt stirred up quite a few waves, played some seriously heavy music, and made a few friends along the way. Here: A quick look back at the magazine's 35-year history with Van Pelt and new owner, David Stagg.


Full Feature
All Features