Summit Entertainment, Chop Shop Records and Atlantic Records have announced the release of “THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON – ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK,” the musical companion to the highly anticipated second installment in Summit’s film franchise.  Due in stores and online October 20th, the entire soundtrack features songs that will appear in the movie, highlighted by Death Cab for Cutie’s brand new single “Meet Me On the Equinox.”  THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON is slated to open in theatres nationwide on November 20th.

In just one week, “Meet Me On the Equinox” has already exploded onto the modern rock charts, landing at #26.  The song, which is the soundtrack’s first announced track, debuted in full on September 13th at in conjunction with MTV’s Video Music Awards.  The video companion to the song, which was shot in Toronto by director Walter Robot, will premiere soon.

“We wrote ‘Meet Me On the Equinox’ to reflect the celestial themes and motifs that run throughout the TWILIGHT series, and we wanted to capture that desperate feeling of endings and beginnings that so strongly affect the main characters,” said Death Cab for Cutie bassist Nick Harmer. “This song marks the first attempt that Death Cab for Cutie has ever made at contributing new, unreleased material for a film.  It just seems a perfect synergy that a band from the Northwest would create a song for a series of novels set in the Northwest.  We are not only proud to be a part of the TWILIGHT legacy but also honored to join so many other fantastic artists that have leant their amazing creativity to this soundtrack.”

In addition to Death Cab for Cutie, the soundtrack features songs from Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, The Killers, Band of Skulls, Grizzly Bear, Bon Iver & St. Vincent, Lykke Li, and Anya Marina.  Also included is a remix from Muse, who not only appeared on the original “TWILIGHT” soundtrack but is one of author Stephenie Meyer’s favorite bands.  Every recording featured on the soundtrack is exclusive to the soundtrack, either having never been released previously or as a remixed version.  See below for the entire tracklisting.

Chop Shop Music Supervision owner Alexandra Patsavas (Gossip Girl, Grey’s Anatomy) returns as the “THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON” Soundtrack Album Producer/Music Supervisor, working closely with the film’s director Chris Weitz in compiling the tracklisting.  Paul Katz of Eye2Ear Music serves as both the producer of the album as well as Summit’s point person on film-related music and soundtracks.

“Chris Weitz had such a beautiful yet specific musical point of view for this picture,” said Patsavas.  “It was so rewarding working with the director and the immensely talented artists on this project.”

“We’ve all wanted to live in the world that Stephenie Meyer created and the soundtrack for ‘NEW MOON’ makes it almost possible,” noted Summit Entertainment’s President of Worldwide Production, Erik Feig.  “Each song was written specifically for the movie by the most perfect bands around, in what we think is going to be a classic collection.  It is a truly custom fit for a truly immersive experience.”

“THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON – ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK” is now available to pre-order at Several different options are available to pre-order, including digital, standard, deluxe, and a very special limited edition that includes exclusive e-mail alerts, stickers, a poster, a Death Cab for Cutie t-shirt, access to download the album 72 hours before its release date, as well as a commemorative plaque celebrating the “TWILIGHT” soundtrack’s double platinum status.

Additionally, for the first time ever the soundtrack will also be available on a USB drive.  Atlantic Records and Summit Entertainment have teamed up with Tyme Machines to include the full soundtrack on its commemorative “TWILIGHT” 3-D sculpted “Cullen Crest” 2GB USB drive.  The USB drive will be available for purchase online and at select retailers on the soundtrack’s release date.


Released in November of 2008, “TWILIGHT – ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK” has gone on to sell more than 2.2 million copies in the U.S. alone and 3.5 million worldwide.  The soundtrack topped the Billboard 200 chart upon its release, marking the largest debut for an Atlantic Records soundtrack since Nielsen SoundScan began tracking sales in 1991.  It also marked the biggest digital album debut of a theatrical soundtrack in SoundScan history.  Since its release, “TWILIGHT – ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK” has remained on the Billboard 200 for a total of 45 consecutive weeks.


About Summit Entertainment LLC

Summit Entertainment is a worldwide theatrical motion picture development, financing, production, and distribution studio. The studio handles all aspects of marketing and distribution for both its own internally developed motion pictures as well as acquired pictures. Summit Entertainment, LLC also represents international sales for both its own slate and third party product. Summit Entertainment, LLC plans to release 10 to 12 films annually.

About Atlantic Records

Atlantic Records, which celebrated its 60th Anniversary in 2008, currently ranks as the #1 label in the music industry.  Founded in New York City, the label grew from literally a one-room operation into one of the world’s preeminent music companies. Atlantic has released a string of recordings that have had a profound impact on the course of modern music, its rich history including such musical icons as Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, John Coltrane, and Led Zeppelin.  The Atlantic roster today includes many of the world’s most popular recording artists, among them James Blunt, Tracy Chapman, Phil Collins, Death Cab for Cutie, Missy Elliott, Estelle, Flo Rida, Lupe Fiasco, Gnarls Barkley, Kid Rock, Matchbox Twenty, Jason Mraz, O.A.R., Sean Paul, Rush, Shinedown, Staind, Rob Thomas, T.I., Trey Songz, Uncle Kracker, Zac Brown Band, and many more.

About Chop Shop

Alexandra Patsavas founded her own Chop Shop Music Supervision company in 1998.  She quickly earned a reputation for raising the bar in the quality of music selected for television series, including Grey’s Anatomy, The O.C., Gossip Girl, Mad Men, and Rescue Me.   A champion of independent artists, Patsavas has been responsible for identifying and exposing a remarkable string of original music to mainstream audiences.  In the process, she has played an influential role in the development of such artists as Death Cab for Cutie, The Killers, Snow Patrol, Modest Mouse, The Fray, KT Tunstall, and many others. In 2007, Patsavas launched Chop Shop Records, which today is home to The Republic Tigers, The Little Ones, Anya Marina, and the “Twilight” and “New Moon” soundtracks.





In Stores And Online October 20th

1.  Death Cab for Cutie—“Meet Me On the Equinox”

2. Band of Skulls—“Friends”

3. Thom Yorke—“Hearing Damage”

4. Lykke Li—“Possibility”

5. The Killers—“A White Demon Love Song”

6. Anya Marina—“Satellite Heart”

7. Muse—“I Belong To You (New Moon Remix)”

8. Bon Iver & St. Vincent—“Roslyn”

9. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club—“Done All Wrong”

10. Hurricane Bells—“Monsters”

11. Sea Wolf—“The Violet Hour”

12. OK Go—“Shooting the Moon”

13. Grizzly Bear—“Slow Life”

14. Editors—“No Sound But the Wind”

15. Alexandre Desplat—“New Moon (The Meadow)”


The Undertaking 2021

Quite The Undertaking

Frenzied. Chaotic. Punk. The Undertaking!, San Diego's newest wild bunch, is about to release their debut album, and, if their live show is a premonition of any kind, the world will be opening up to one heck of a party with them. Contributing writer Andrew Voigt talks to vocalist Austin Visser about the band's new album, the reality of their music, and how they've been able to embrace their creative freedom.


Full Feature
All Features