CBS Records will release the second volume of a specially produced soundtrack for the hit television series NCIS on Tuesday, November 3.  NCIS:  The Official TV Soundtrack – Vol. 2, features brand new and previously unreleased tracks from some of music’s most popular artists – including Bob Dylan, Norah Jones, John Mellencamp, Sheryl Crow, Joss Stone, Sick Puppies, and Saosin – that are available exclusively on this soundtrack.  In its seventh season, NCIS is the #1 most-watched show on television, with more than 20 million viewers weekly.*

To coincide with the album’s release date, the November 3 episode of NCIS will prominently feature Bob Dylan’s “California” – a never-before-released track that originally dates from the Bringing It All Back Home sessions and has remained locked in the vaults until now. “California” has been newly mixed and mastered and is a true gem from one of music’s greatest artists.  The remaining tracks will be placed in NCIS episodes throughout the current season, which ends in May 2010.
The soundtrack also features a brand new song from NCIS star Michael Weatherly (Special Agent Anthony DiNozzo), “Bitter And Blue,” that was recorded especially for this soundtrack.  Exclusive new tracks from rising stars Sharon Little and Keaton Simons are also featured, as are Otis Redding’s “I’ve Got Dreams To Remember” and Tom Lehrer’s “The Elements” that were both heard in previous episodes of NCIS and were suggested by the show’s fans in a poll conducted through the NCIS music website (
As they did with the highly successful first volume, NCIS:  The Official TV Soundtrack, NCIS show producers listened to dozens of submitted tracks before choosing the ones best suited for upcoming shows.  As NCIS Executive Producer Shane Brennan explains, “It was really gratifying to see the incredible response to our first soundtrack, and we want fans to know that we’ve put the same care and attention into assembling this new volume as we did with the first.  So many great artists have contributed fresh material to this soundtrack, and the result is truly special.”
NCIS airs Tuesdays (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network and is produced by Belisarius Productions in association with CBS Television Studios.
The complete track listing for NCIS:  The Official TV Soundtrack – Vol. 2 is as follows:
  1. Bob Dylan                    California                                              Exclusive
  2. Norah Jones                 That’s What I Said                               Exclusive
  3. Joss Stone                    Every Time I Turn Around                    Exclusive
  4. Sick Puppies                That Time Of Year                               Exclusive
  5. Sharon Little                 Genie In My Dreams                            Exclusive
  6. John Mellencamp          Someday The Rains Will Fall                Exclusive
  7. Sheryl Crow                 Murder In My Heart                             Exclusive
  8. Keaton Simons Grim Reaper                                         Exclusive
  9. Otis Redding                I’ve Got Dreams To Remember
  10. Michael Weatherly        Bitter And Blue                         Exclusive
  11. Saosin                          Move Slow                                          Exclusive
  12. Tom Lehrer                  The Elements
*SOURCE: Nielsen Galaxy Explorer NTI 9/21-10/6/09. Live+SD.  Total viewers = (000).


Tigerwine 2020

A Disparate Vintage

On Tigerwine's latest, 'Nothing is for You,' vocalist and lyricist Trobee departs from the band's last effort as a concept record to write about an array subjects. Notably, Trobee tackles his evolution from rigid belief system to an acceptance and understanding of other ideas: "Through touring and becoming close with those very people I was taught to be afraid of, I realized how untrue it all is."


Full Feature
My Epic performing their last final show before COVID-19

Between the White Noise

My Epic's last full-length album came out in 2013; despite a number of EPs along the way, the band's dedication to their craft, lyrical approach, and unyielding approach to let the music come naturally has made them critical darlings. Now, they're learning to interact and feed a rabid fanbase in between albums and in a new normal.


Full Feature
Employed to Serve

Forward Under a Dying Sun

Most of these days, the sun rises and sets on a world that feels like it's dying. Across the pond, where Employed to Serve calls home, they're learning how to support their latest record a year into its release. HM contributor Andrew Voigt recently sat down with Justine Jones to learn more about the band, marrying your bandmates, and their outside shot at touring with Rammstein.


Full Feature
Comrades 2020

Becoming Comrades

The trio of Comrades – husband and wife Joe and Laura McElroy alongside drummer John Gaskil – is used to living in a van and touring the country. Now, their new normal has provided them with a moment to "be adults" for once. We recently sat down with the McElroys to talk more about the spiritual reality within life, how soon they'll be able to release new music, and how koalas are their new normal.


Photo by Quinsey Sablan

Full Feature
All Features