The Grammy-nominated rock group AS I LAY DYING are gearing up for the release of their new album, AWAKENED, due out September 25 on Metal Blade. You should have received your advance digital copy of AWAKENED today via email.

For the new album, the San Diego based band holed up in the Blasting Room in Fort Collins, CO with renowned rock producer Bill Stevenson (Descendents) and mixer Colin Richardson.

AWAKENED marks the follow-up the Decas EP (2011) which reached # 2 on the iTunes Rock Chart. The group’s last LP, 2010′s immensely successful The Powerless Rise debuted on the Billboard Top 200 at #10. The Powerless Rise also reached #2 on Billboard’s Independent Albums Chart and #3 on Billboard’s Hard Music Albums Chart.

The group–NICK HIPA (guitar), TIM LAMBESIS (vocals), JORDAN MANCINO (drums), PHIL SGROSSO (guitar) and JOSH GILBERT (bass)–are currently on the road for the Rockstar Mayhem Festival. Fans can expect to see the band–renowned for delivering explosive live performancesall summer long on the Mayhem Festival alongside select U.S. solo dates and non-Mayhem dates supporting Slipknot. Watch the lyric video for new song “Cauterize” here:

Following is the track listing for AWAKENED:

  1. 1. *Cauterize *Focus track
  2. 2. *A Greater Foundation *Focus track
  3. 3. Resilience
  4. 4. Wasted Words
  5. 5. Whispering Silence
  6. 6. Overcome
  7. 7. No Lungs to Breathe
  8. 8. Defender
  9. 9. Washed Away

10. My Only Home

11. Tear Out My Eyes

Thanks for listening to AWAKENED from AS I LAY DYING and expect the group to announce a major Fall U.S. tour soon.



My Epic performing their last final show before COVID-19

Between the White Noise

My Epic's last full-length album came out in 2013; despite a number of EPs along the way, the band's dedication to their craft, lyrical approach, and unyielding approach to let the music come naturally has made them critical darlings. Now, they're learning to interact and feed a rabid fanbase in between albums and in a new normal.


Full Feature
Employed to Serve

Forward Under a Dying Sun

Most of these days, the sun rises and sets on a world that feels like it's dying. Across the pond, where Employed to Serve calls home, they're learning how to support their latest record a year into its release. HM contributor Andrew Voigt recently sat down with Justine Jones to learn more about the band, marrying your bandmates, and their outside shot at touring with Rammstein.


Full Feature
All Features